Stardom In The Online Community


You’ll only get pleasant surprises when you deal with Dandy Don.

-Dandy Don

Stardom. I know of no one currently working as a professional in the field that doesn’t want it on some level. Oh sure, some will act demure, saying, “Such frivolities wouldn’t matter to me…” But let’s face a cold, hard fact; Social Media is all about recognition to the serious adept. Unless you have some level of influence, you’ll soon be looking into the lucrative field of insurance sales. You simply must be respected on some parallel if you expect to make a career of it, your area of expertise notwithstanding. Obviously, this is easier when you are in some sphere in which there is little competition, but as time wears on, these ranges become more and more occasional. Consider the young African-American child who dreams of playing in the NBA: 30 teams, with 15 players per team, equals 450 available positions. Figure a generous estimate of 50 berths for the white boys, and that leaves 400 slots for the burgeoning adolescent to play ball.

That the atmosphere in Social Media glory is rarified makes stardom even more unattainable. This in turn leads many to vault themselves in the minds of others as power players. These self-proclaimed celebrities have no problems with promoting their personal brands. They let everyone in earshot know how esteemed they are perceived, how appreciated by the crowd, how highly their opinions are held. Statements such as, “I’m a Thought-Leader!” abound amongst the self-serving, particularly when such are otherwise unknown wannabe’s. Oddly, this stands in stark contrast to my personal experience.

I met several celebrities during my tenure as a professional performer. I was a magician, which is agreeably only one rung above mime in the entertainment food chain. Still, I did garner a modicum of notoriety, enough in fact to travel the country, even once to that Mecca of entertainment, Hollywood, CA. I had by that time already met musical immortal Willie Nelson (and yes, I was one of the many that busted a J with ol’ Willie), and while in Tinsel Town happened to sit down next to Academy Award winning actor Tom Hanks at the Hard Rock Café, Hollywood, though we never got around to smoking any weed. It has been many a year ago these things happened, and each encounter lasted less than 15 minutes (can’t imagine either could or would ever remember me), but each revealed something I found unique; neither bought into the hype surrounding their preeminence. They were, aside from their fantastic accomplishments, just people, not unlike me or you.

This is typical of the true notable personage, especially in the social networking purview. Stardom in the online community comes from others promoting the efforts of the mogul, who therefore has no need to proclaim their fame. After writing Don’t Follow Grannelle On Twitter, Or Why @GuyKawasaki Bailed, the great man himself took time to comment on the post. He didn’t pontificate, or expect to be taken as anything other than just one more practitioner of the art. He was accessible. This is as any of us should be, regardless of our level of opprobrium. Those who parade their own significance obviously are overcompensating for some perceived lack, and I don’t think I need to state what that particular shortcoming often is, at least with males. We rarely see such behavior among women, do we? I wonder why…

Dom Deluise and I doing a "ventriloquist" act.

Dom Deluise and I doiing a "ventriloquist" act. He was hilarious, and a very down-to-earth person.

About Grannelle

eMarketing Scholar
This entry was posted in Opinion, Social Media and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Stardom In The Online Community

  1. I’ve been searching on the web trying to find ideas on how to get my personal blog site coded, your present style and theme are wonderful. Did you code it your self or did you recruit a coder to get it done for you personally?

    Like

    • Grannelle says:

      Your kind words are appreciated! I actually do my own code. Part of my self-directed curriculum as a Social Media student has been study over the past two years of XHTML, CSS, and JS. For those wishing to blog, and maintain control over their own content, it is worth the time, trouble, and expense to learn. A great place to begin learning is W3Schools. Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  2. You’re a damn funny guy. I like your blog. I didn’t know you were allowed to be quite so funny in this class. What a breath of fresh air at three in the morning. I’m going to read this one more.

    But bigger the star, smaller the ego? What about Madonna or Kanye West to name a couple? I think there’s more of a bell curve going on with fame and ego, where just the right balance between complete anonymity and official deity-hood creates a decent-ish human being, no?

    Like

    • Grannelle says:

      Okay. Madonna and Kanye West: Both aren’t really accepted across the board, are they? Sure, they have their fans, but they also have their detractors. I can remember back in the ’80’s (better decade than the ’60’s) going into a trendy dance club in Atlanta and the first thing I saw was a poster of Madonna w/ a big red circle around it and a slash thru it. Stars like Willie (coolest!) and others of his ilk are pretty much (and I’ll grant, perhaps not completely, but mostly) accepted; why? 0 ego. Still, I do like your paradigm of the Bell curve, and think it adept; given your example, I’d be inclined to agree.

      Many thanks re: my humor. A two-sided coin; sometimes I can get away w/ it in a class/meeting/social situation if I’m on point w/ subject matter, but then I’ve worked my @$$ off for years in this business and I got dik. As far as this class, I’m only an invited guest, and given my willingness to say whatever pops into my head, I’ve no idea how long that will last…

      Like

  3. Mike10613 says:

    I found this more interesting and easier to read. I was writing a blog earlier and wondered about the readers. I try to aim at an international audience even though most of my readers have been UK readers. This blog is very American and if that is your readership; that works. I would consider making it a little more international. I always try to explain if I use acronyms too; even the obvious ones. Not everyone knows what NBA is and when I write on finance I use QE for quantitative easing because typing quantitative over and over is a pain! I do explain what it is before I use the acronyms though and the same applies to other financial terms like bulls, bears, hawks and doves; finance writers just sound pompous when they use terms like that without explanation.

    I did manage to use Neodigital images today, even though the blog wasn’t primarily about art. I think you could try using your photography to draw attention to the blog and send a message in a picture as well as words. A photograph depicting Hollywood would have fitted nicely into this blog.

    I’ll pay attention and when I get my traffic back I’ll see if I can drive some your way. It’s dropped from a high off 366 to about 60 page views a day this week. I have an idea for an inward link for the Thrifty and Frugal to follow though. I am making the most of the Farmville crowd at the moment. I send them on a magical mystery tour of cross links! 🙂

    Like

    • Grannelle says:

      Thanks Mike. I’m usually lucky if the people that live in my apartment community read this blog, so if I actually got out to most of the U.S., I’d be thrilled; to think that someone overseas (besides yourself) would read it, well… yeah. I got nothin’.

      Much appreciation for your thoughts on the use of images. In this post, I only wanted to emphasize the fact that the bigger the star, the smaller the ego. Stage and screen actor Dom Deluise is a prime example, and it was the only photo I had of him. Sad that I had to be in it, as I wouldn’t want people thinking I was guilty of my own protestations. In fact, stardom and myself are diametrically opposed terms at this juncture, and likely will continue to be for the foreseeable future.

      Like

Leave a Reply

