Keep Doing What You Do (In Social Media)


The other night, I had a conversation with my beautiful wife, Annelle. I lamented that I didn’t seem to be taken very seriously by the professional online community, that much of what I had to say either went over people’s heads, wasn’t taken seriously, or outright ignored altogether. That once they saw I was a student, the rest was a given; I don’t need to be giving advice, I need to be taking it.

I’ve worked very hard over the past years of my involvement in Social Media. In the beginning, I was like most others just starting out; lot’s of passion, few street smarts. As time wore on, I studied what others were doing. I tried following the established and accepted practices. Then, slowly, I began to branch out, to make my own trail, and create some rules of my own. I tried to walk a logical path, while at the same time developing my own style.

And now? Now I am active on Twitter (though as a previous post suggests, maybe not in a way I should be). I have well over a hundred connections on LinkedIn, where I also am an admin for one very popular and highly professional Social Media discussion group, and an active participant in several others. I have more than a few friends on Facebook, and there belong to some industry related syndicates. While my presence on Foursquare is lacking, that is only because I never go anywhere.

And I write this blog.

I wear several hats every day. As director of Grannelle, I’m involved in trying to build the brand and generate business. As a student, I must study and submit assignments. And then, I try to stay active in Social Media, posting here and there whatever content is timely and relevant, attempting to do so with my own quirky, humorous style. I get paid for none of it, but I work very hard nonetheless.

Like anyone else, I want my efforts to mean something. I’m obviously not doing this for my health, for if that were the case I don’t think I’d be in the shape I’m in. Spending anywhere from 12 to 18 hours out of the day working as I do makes me feel I should be getting a reward of some type. Shouldn’t I? Wouldn’t you?

These were the issues I discussed with Nelle. I questioned whether my voracity was in vain, that my toils were for naught. She listened patiently as I spoke, and after I finished, she simply asked, “Baby, do you enjoy what you are doing?” I didn’t even have to think. Yes. Absolutely! “Then your efforts ARE your reward. It doesn’t matter if others don’t accept, or even understand, what it is you’re doing. You’re doing it because you have a love for it, and that means you do it as well as you possibly can. Keep doing what you do.”

Keep doing what you do. Could anyone ever ask for a greater affirmation? The words were an epiphany. She had swept away all the clouds of doubt, and gave me back my will to once again go forth and fight the good fight. And it seemed that since the commemoration of our wedding was soon to be upon us, this was the greatest gift she could bestow.

And so I post this on the day that marks our having been married, and so very much in love, for eleven years. I dedicate it to sweet, loving Nelle, the person who is there to remind me that for as long as what I am constructively doing makes me happy, nothing else matters. It is my present to her.

Happy anniversary, baby. Good times. Keep doing what you do.

The love of my life, Annelle.

The love of my life, Annelle.

Nelle's old man, Gregory

Nelle's old man, Gregory

About Grannelle

eMarketing Scholar
This entry was posted in Opinion, Social Media and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Keep Doing What You Do (In Social Media)

  1. Mike10613 says:

    You are getting more comments than me! I get strange site stats now. I had lots of referrals from the Czech republic yesterday but today they have disappeared from stats and my following in China never shows in stats. I am getting new ideas though and I am determined to make Twitter work and bring traffic. I’m improving SEO with lots of tags embedded into images. I’m targeting readers and being diverse. Most come to read about saving money! the popular search term pertains to ‘Farmville’ 🙂 I’m looking at Western and Chinese astrology now; there is a lot of interest but are the keywords strong enough? I will experiment and find out. 🙂 I know what I write and post earlier in the week affects page view later in the week and the weekend. My Thrifty Thursday post and Frugal Friday posts drive traffic to post from Earlier in the week – if the headline (title) is good. Writing just on social media won’t gte as much as social media with comedy but I like to be even more diverse. Put cross links at the end of the post too – they work better right at the end. I should write a blog – ‘How to drive traffic to your blog!’ 🙂

    Like

    • Grannelle says:

      Write a blog? Hell man, you should write a book!

      I can’t figure out what is and isn’t working on this, but it really doesn’t matter. I very much appreciate that people are coming to it and leaving comments (so affirming), yet I’ve never considered myself a blogger; my first love is and forever will be eCommerce (wrote a new blog for a school project – Gregory Stringer – eCommerce Blog – doubt I’ll have time to maintain it, but it shows what I really feel I’m good at); helping others to build their global markets. I try to take altruistic cues from you and your wonderful support of your Chinese students – so very selfless, Mike. Whatever else you may do, your greatest blessings will always come from those kinds of efforts.

      Like

  2. Straight to the point and well written! Why can’t everyone else be like this?

    Like

    • Grannelle says:

      So many thanks. All credit here goes to Nelle. “From the lips of children and infants you have ordained praise (or in this case, wisdom).”

      Like

  3. Pam Lawhorne says:

    Love, love, love your post! It’s funny because I spend a majority of my time at my laptop. Let me correct that statement – I live online! And sometimes it’s hard to measure your efforts… but I agree with your wife. If you love what you do then keep doing it!

    Anything worth having is worth working hard for… and in this business you work ALL THE TIME!

    Thanks for establishing the relationship! Looking forward to networking with you!

    Pam Lawhorne

    Like

    • Grannelle says:

      So many thanks, Pam. I sometimes have a hard time seeing the forest b/c of all the trees.

      You are right, working in Social Media sometimes means 27 hour days.

      Looking forward to networking w/ you also!

      Like

  4. I truly believe in my heart that if you have the support you do, we all can accomplish great things. I guess maybe i have lost my way because I never did. My bf does not understand what I do, as much as I have tried to explain it to him he has had a bad experience with online social networking as such, and doesn’t feel its important. I made it very clear that I would never stop doing what I do just for him and again your love makes a valid point: “Why are we doing this? for others or because we love it?.” Im stealing her for a day. I am proud of you, you are the few people I met years ago online and encouraged me when the first time you said you would use my site for school. I think it’s admirable that you did this even at your age and it is an accomplishment no one can take away. As i should realize about my books. Even if not one single person buys my story, then so be it. At least a small town girl wrote three books. Thanks xo

    Like

    • Grannelle says:

      Amazing how much can be said in so few words, isn’t it Butterfly? I know I get so close to what I’m doing that often I cannot see the big picture. We’ve been down the road together, haven’t we? Nelle is right. Our efforts are our reward, and everyone else’s low opinions matter not. That we try is what matters. Let us endeavor to always do so. Thanks for being my friend. 😉

      Like

  5. I Love It !!!
    You are not alone…sometimes you get harsh comments from perfect strangers and maybe you start thinking why I am doing this? Why do I try to share ideas and get beaten for that ? After all I could just read other people’s idea and stop there. But you know if I don’t share what I learn I feel “half empty”. I am not asking to get compliments for what I do, I need to be challenged too but it’s in the way it is done on some forums that is hard. But as your charming wife is saying, if you love what you do then keep doing it ! I will
    Cheers

    Like

    • hi Anne,
      People can be harsh and in the last few days i have taken some beatings about my website. Evaluation time for me. Comments from others matter to me so much i get sick over it in my head. One of my biggest flaws, I am working on self growth and that this year is my biggest challenge. Stop worrying about what others think. Hard to learn. But i will keep doing what i do and more.

      Like

      • Hi Purple

        I clicked on your link and saw “No Error just setting goals!
        Purple’S Theory after much deliberation, I will be upgrading with better things. People have voiced their opinions and they are the readers. ” That’s a lot of courage:-)

        Taking into account feedback from your audience is also very important, change is life, so even if we learn the hard way we must be able to turn harsh criticisms into constructive comments for keeping on improving. Easier said than done!

        Like

    • Grannelle says:

      Much appreciated, Anne. I suppose I’m lucky; I have someone who reminds me what is really important. And the most important thing in my life is her.

      Like

  6. Mike10613 says:

    Enjoying what you do is the most important thing and trying to look forward and not back. I have a question! I have been reading about a guy who did send his blog viral with 50,000 hits and he explained how he did it. I have considered that carefully and I hope to incorporate his ideas into a blog. I am planning a blog to be posted on April the 1st and people in England don’t take things too seriously on that day. My question is are Americans likely to get the joke too? I am of course trying to really funny this time and another attempt at sending a blog viral; although I haven’t given up on the Farmville crowd yet! 🙂 I hope to rope people including Shari into this crazy scheme to post blogs! lol.

    Like

  7. Grannelle says:

    Thank you sweetheart! I Love You So Much!!! Happy Anniversary!

    Like

    • Grannelle says:

      For edification, that thank you was from Nelle, who didn’t know she was logged in as me.

      And I love you too, baby. Happy Anniversary! Now, let’s go party!!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

