Things Your Parents Never Told You About Blogging – Part I: Introductory Basics


47% of all statistics are made up on the spot.
-Unknown

There is currently a dearth of articles on how to blog within the blogosphere. This series will take the effort one step further, giving instruction not only on the basics, but all aspects, including coding, promotion, technical considerations, and more. The aim is to give a complete overview for the novice/beginner as well as those wanting and needing a more complete understanding. This is the first in a serial effort to fulfill that desire.

I would state at the outset, as I oft times have elsewhere, that I am not a blogger; I merely play one on the ‘Net. While ordinarily said in jest, there is a grain of truth here. I am not, by popular definition, a blogger. While Wikipedia, that font of knowledge so quickly dismissed by the uninformed (yet hailed by many academics for its community of learned individuals who keep a jaundiced eye cast to the contributions made by the masses), defines a blogger as “A person who writes a blog, or weblog,” and is further edified by Dictionary.com as “a person who keeps a Web log (blog) or publish(es) an online diary,” the common viewpoint is described as one that specifically focuses on the activity, i.e. updates and publishes their communicative on a regular basis, usually daily, certainly more than once a week. While I fall into the former category, I often fail in the latter. I typically will avoid using the term blog, instead opting for article, in an attempt to separate myself from that great collective priding itself on journaling effort.

I maintain Grannelle’s Social Media only as one more facet of Social Media practice, along with Twitter and Facebook posts, engagement in LinkedIn convos, and other forms of involvement

Still, if something is to be done, it should be done right. What follows is therefore a recipe for writing a blog. It is not exclusive, nor I daresay most favorable – just a technique. Tools for the task will be listed, then my own methodology.


Software: text editor (Notepad, TextEdit), word processor (Word, iWord), GUI HTML editor (HTMLPad2010, Dreamweaver), blog platform (WordPress, Blogger)

Websites: thesaurus/dictionary (Thesaurus.com), reference (Wikipedia), search engine (Google)


  1. Before ever placing fingers to keyboard, one should ideally have some notion of what they are going to write. This can be a roadblock. My best ideas for a subject almost never occur when I’m ready to sit down and post; more often they happen when I’m doing anything but. Therefore I maintain a text file expressly for ideas – when I have them, I jot them down, as obscure and nebulous as they may be. As I ready myself to work, if I have no idea what to say, I refer to said list, and then am able to have a starting point. To make a long story less long, I’ll skip work place readiness, leaving it for another time and place.
  2. Using a text editor, I dash off fragmented sentences, one line after another. When the missive starts to take shape, I fill in the missing blanks. I don’t concern myself with grammar or spelling, as that will come. At this point I simply want to flesh out the blurb. Once I have a working prototype, I move to the next step.
  3. Within the word processor, grammar, spelling, and finishing touches can be initiated. Certainly the strivings of step 2 can be eliminated and done here. During this juncture refinement takes place. Utilizing the thesaurus and dictionary, quality and value is added. Reference sites and search engines will furnish needed attribution and citation. Grammar and spelling cannot be overemphasized. Little is more chafing to the reader than being interrupted by having to figure out what the correct spelling is, or that what they read doesn’t flow in a logical manner. Popular shortcuts employed when texting or zipping off eMail should be avoided, as the user is taking valuable time to view the dispatch; they therefore should be accorded the courtesy of at least a secondary education-level written account. Word processing software will assist greatly in sidestepping these pitfalls by automating the process. Good money was paid (or should have been) to acquire the program, and utilization validates the investment.

    *Note: the point in this activity is to communicate effectively – the use of flowery language (what my eternal beloved Nelle refers to as “pompous ass talk” – one can only wonder what, or more accurately who, her inspiration for this terminology came from) does little to effect this. As was pointed out by Shari Weiss, blogger and professor of journalism, a $1.00 word customarily serves as well as a $10.00 one. The thesaurus should be used as a tool, not a bludgeon.

  4. Enter the concept of proof-reading. Once the first, second, and even third drafts are accomplished, the completed declaration should be read critically. Mistakes can easily be overlooked, especially the little ones. Proof-reading will help to out these blunders and provide a polished bulletin.
  5. Coding the blog will be considered by the populous as unnecessary overkill. Nonetheless, the language of the Web is HTML, and from the standpoint of completeness, the choicest route is coding the blog with it. Also, the ability to be found in search engines (SEO) may be increased via this method, and the finished product looks cleaner and more appealing (more on this subject will be presented in Things Your Parents Never Told You About Blogging – Part 4: SEO). It further adds a touch of professionalism. These issues will be covered in Things Your Parents Never Told You About Blogging – Part 2: Coding I and Part 3: Coding II.
  6. The completed blog is now ready for publishing. While I will avoid pimping a particular product here, simply referring the reader to the myriad products, along with their instructions on use, available on the Infobahn, I would add that further instructions on coding in future installments will be presented on WordPress blogs.

One of the wondrous perks that the Internet has provided is the ability to have our voices heard. Blogging serves as a digital age megaphone.

Join Grannelle’s Social Media for the next installment, Part 2: Coding I

About Grannelle

eMarketing Scholar
This entry was posted in Education, Opinion, Series, Social Media and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Things Your Parents Never Told You About Blogging – Part I: Introductory Basics

  1. Pingback: Giving Thanks for the Blessings of Blogging | Grannelle

  2. Certainly, never it is impossible to be assured.
    Pisanie prac – jezyk polski

    Like

  3. I was once prone to “pompous ass talk” in my online activity (I love that term, actually, that’s just great.) until I realized that the only thing that was coming out of my extra efforts and use of my thesaurus to find bigger versions of words that were actually part of my everyday vocabulary is that I was alienating people who had anything in common with me and inviting in those “intelligentsia” types that nobody likes.

    Like

    • Grannelle says:

      Too true, Leanne; communication is the name of the game. However, as is well documented within these pages, I continue to be guilty. I can’t help myself. It’s a sickness. (BTW, if no one has already guessed, she’s referring to me… “pompous ass” is one of her endearments for me – sort of a left-handed compliment, don’t you think?)

      Like

  4. incicaChara says:

    Hello all

    I apologise, but, in my opinion, you are mistaken. I suggest it to discuss. Write to me in PM.
    my site: kawały

    Like

  5. Billy Rivera says:

    G, you really set the standard with your “curation” blog. As midnight approaches, I find myself half away/half asleep, so tomorrow I’m going to really flesh this one out and savor the top notch aggregation you’ve got going on here. 🙂

    Like

    • Grannelle says:

      Thanks my man. You and your cohorts are really turning the curation paradigm into what it needs to be, a well considered phenomenon of Social Media. I never had considered it until all of you started talking about it, and now I realize it’s importance. Perhaps the online community will embrace this as it should, though I hold with what I’ve said before about elephant sex. 😉

      Like

  6. breannadrew says:

    I like a lot of what you outline in this blog. I would differ slightly on my response to grammar and spelling within the blog. I’m comfortable with reading a blog that varies slightly in its use of SEAE and utilizes instead a more casual and conversational form of the language.

    All in all I think the writing process oftentimes gets overlooked by online community and can do wonders in making any piece of writing easier to both write and read.

    Like

    • Grannelle says:

      How ironic that a professional wordsmith like yourself would be little concerned with the grammatical considerations of others versus a layperson who whines about them. We’ve got analytics on this planet. You make a sanguine arguement, Breanna; content is what is ultimately important. On point. Thanks for stopping by and sharing!

      Like

  7. Mike10613 says:

    I take a different approach to blogging. i wrote today’s Thrifty Thursday blog yesterday and then we had an afternoon taking photos. I proof read today’s blog this morning and tagged a photo to go with it and then did research for my Frugal Friday blog and Farmville blog. I also researched a blog on meta cognitions and pre-cognitive dreams last night. I spent most of my time researching but while I drink my tea after lunch; I’ll research and post comments on other people’s blogs with links to today’s blog. Promotion is important; we need readers! 🙂

    Like

    • Grannelle says:

      For those wanting to blog, your statements here stand as guidance to what can make one a success in doing so, especially your first one. Thanks so much for your input, Mike!

      Like

  8. marianabra7 says:

    Well done!!!! I guess you can call yourself a blogger. I would! Very good article! I really enjoy reading it. Have a great week. I wish i have more time to write more often…

    Like

    • Grannelle says:

      Mariana, with top shelf journalism professionals like yourself around, I’d be afraid of claiming the title! So appreciate your stopping by and commenting, and especially your very kind words – hope your summer break is full of fun and relaxation!

      Like

  9. whatsaysyou says:

    Great article and you said it well that a blog is a digital megaphone. As a blogger, I find blogging really cool and as a great place to engage in discussions and having one’s say.

    Like

Leave a Reply

